Home Somerset rules From Sublime to Ridiculous: Moments from the Masters of Tiger Woods

From Sublime to Ridiculous: Moments from the Masters of Tiger Woods

0

Tiger Woods revealed on Tuesday that he plans to take part in the 86th Masters this week.

His return to one of golf’s biggest stages comes less than 14 months after he was seriously injured in a horrific car accident in February 2021.

Here, the PA News Agency takes a look at five of the top 15 memorable – and not-so-memorable – memorable moments at Augusta National.

Emotional victory in 2019

Two years after believing his career was over, Woods kept his cool on a wonderfully chaotic final day to win his 15th major title, and first in 11 years, at the 83rd Masters. Overnight leader Francesco Molinari was clear two with seven to go but threw his tee shot on 12 into Rae’s Creek, regretfully admitting his return errors had made him ‘some new fans’ as a closing 70 was enough for Woods to claim a fifth green jacket and his first since 2005. It was the first time Woods had won a major after trailing before the final round and an incredible 3,954 days since beating Rocco Mediate during a play-off for the 2008 US Open, despite a double stress fracture and knee injury which required season-ending surgery.

Complete the “Tiger Slam”, 2001

Tiger Woods won the Open Championship in 2000 as part of the ‘Tiger Slam’ to hold all four major titles at the same time (Rebecca Naden/PA)

Woods arrived at Augusta National in 2001 with the need to win to accomplish the unprecedented feat of holding all four major titles at the same time following his victories at the US Open, Open Championship and US PGA in 2000. Five strokes behind after an opening 70 and two behind after a second-round 66, Woods added a 68 on Saturday for a one-stroke lead over Phil Mickelson. A closing 68 saw Woods take on challenges from Mickelson and runner-up David Duval to claim his second Masters title and complete the “Tiger Slam”.

Moment of magic, 16th hole, final round, 2005

Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods (Andrew Milligan/PA)

Woods held a one-shot lead over playing partner Chris DiMarco with three holes to play when he fired his tee shot on the par-three 16th left of the green. With the collar of rough tightly behind his ball, Woods was faced with a tough shot – co-TV commentator Lanny Wadkins called it “one of the toughest pitches in the whole place here” – far from the pin, but judged him perfectly and watched as his ball rolled inexorably towards the hole. It momentarily paused on the edge, carefully showing the manufacturer’s logo, before tipping into the cup to spark wild celebrations.

Water Troubles 12th Hole Final Round 2020

Tiger Woods
Defending champion Tiger Woods took 10 out of 12 by three in the final round of the 2020 Masters (PA Graphics)

Defending champion Woods made history in the 84th Masters final, held in November due to the coronavirus pandemic – but for all the wrong reasons. Woods was already out of the game when he ran a 10 on the par three 12th, the highest score on a single hole of his entire career. After hitting his first tee shot into Rae’s Creek, Woods took a penalty before hitting his next shot into the hazard, then another penalty before overcompensating and firing his fifth shot over the green into a bunker. Faced with an awkward position in the sand, Woods thinned his sixth shot across the green into the water and eventually landed his eighth shot before two putts from the fringe. Remarkably, Woods rebounded with five birdies in his final six holes.

Controversial penalty, 2nd round, 2013

Seemingly three from the halfway point in 2013, Woods was given a two-stroke penalty before the third lap. His approach to the 15th hole in the second round hit the pin and bounced in the water and, after choosing not to play from the drop zone, Woods opted to play from the same spot as his initial shot. Under Rule 26-1a he was required to drop “as near as possible to the place from which the original ball was last played”, but said in an interview after the round he chose to go “two meters further”. This should have resulted in a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, but crucial rules officials reviewed footage of the incident, decided Woods had done nothing wrong and did not inform him of the situation. Woods signed for an incorrect score and that would usually have meant disqualification, but under a recent revision to the 33-7 rule, a tournament committee can waive the disqualification if it “is satisfied that the competitor could not not reasonably know or discover the facts resulting from his offence”. rules “.